
This publication is authorized by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority in accordance with state and 
federal regulations and printed by the University of Oklahoma Printing Services. Cost of the printing 
was $975.00 for10,000 copies. OHCA is in compliance with Title VI and Title VII of the 1964 Civil 
Rights Act and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Copies have been deposited with the Oklahoma 
Department of Libraries Clearinghouse. The Oklahoma Health Care Authority does not discriminate 
on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in employment or the 
provision of services. Order additional copies on the OHCA Web site www.okhca.org.

Your Responsibilities:
• You should call SoonerRide at least three 

(3) business days ahead of your ap-
pointment date. You are not guaranteed 
transportation if you do not call with at 
least three days notice.

• If your appointment is canceled please no-
tify SoonerRide as soon as you know (24 
hour advance notice required if possible). 
This will prevent unnecessary trips for 
local transportation companies trying to 
serve others that day.  If you have three 
no-shows in a 90-day period, you risk 
losing service.  Passengers who misuse 
or abuse the service or behave disrup-
tively may be denied SoonerRide NET 
Services.

• You should be ready fi fteen (15) minutes 
before the agreed on pick-up time. The 
vehicle is considered on time if it arrives 
15 minutes before or 15 minutes after 
the designated pick-up time. The driver 
is required to wait up to 10 minutes from 
your pick-up time to transport you. Driv-
ers cannot come into the home, lift pas-
sengers, or take wheelchairs up and 
down stairs.

• You are responsible for all medication 
and belongings once aboard the vehicle. 
Please do not give them to your driver.

• No eating, drinking, smoking or using 
other types of tobacco products is al-
lowed in the vehicle.

• Please be respectful and courteous of 
other riders and your driver.

• Please notify SoonerRide when you 
change your address or no longer need 
transportation.

• You are responsible for providing a child 
safety seat for children younger than 4 or 
under 60 pounds. 

• An adult must accompany children under 
the age of 15. People 15 to 18 must have 
a note from parent or guardian on fi le 
with SoonerRide.

• A maximum of one escort or 
  attendant may accompany a passen-

ger. Children may not accompany 
adults when the appointment is for 
the adult. Children may ride only if 
they have a medical appointment.

Reporting a Service Issue:

If you would like to report a service 
issue or make a compliment about a 
driver or vehicle service, please call 
SoonerRide at 1-877-404-4500. A 
customer service representative will 
take your information and contact all        
necessary parties.
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SoonerRide Transportation Services 
If you live in Oklahoma and have a valid 
SoonerCare ID number, you qualify for 
SoonerRide, the state’s Medicaid transportation 
service. (SoonerCare members who are 
residents of a nursing facility also may use 
SoonerRide.) 

SoonerRide is designed for people without 
adequate transportation to medically 
necessary appointments. SoonerRide does 
not handle emergency transportation. In 
case of an emergency, call 911. 

Making a Reservation 

Arranging SoonerRide transportation is easy. To 
make a reservation, you must call 
1-877-404-4500 at least three (3) business days 
before your trip is needed. Hours to call are       
8 a.m. to 6 p.m.* Monday through Saturday.

When you call SoonerRide, a customer 
service representative will ask for the  
following information: 

• Your current SoonerCare ID number • The time and day of your medical
	 appointment• The name, address and phone number of     	
	 the health care facility you will be visiting • The reason for your medical appointment • Whether you will require an escort 

This information is needed to establish if you 
qualify for SoonerRide and to determine which 
type of transportation will best meet    your 
needs.  

* Urgent trips may be accepted with less 
notice. Urgent trips are hospital discharg-
es, Patient Advice Line referrals, doctor ap-	
pointments when deemed necessary by a 
doctor, or a facility transfer. 

Please note: 

• Trip authorization numbers must be 
assigned for each trip, including trips that 
involve a gas reimbursement. Make sure 
you write down the authorization number 
you are given when you book your trip. If 
you have any questions or concerns 
later, you will need this number for 
prompt service. 

• Types of transportation available to you 
through SoonerRide include                  
gas reimbursement, paratransit, bus 
tickets and stretcher van. 

Where’s My Ride? 
If transportation is running more than 15 
minutes late and you have not heard from your 
driver, simply call the toll-free “Where’s My 
Ride?” number: 1-800-435-1034. When you 
call, give your authorization number, and 
SoonerRide will call your driver and let you 
know where the driver is and when you can 
expect your ride to arrive. 

Questions and Answers 
Q: What if I am hearing impaired? 
A: If you need TDD services, call 711 or 
    1-800-722-0353.

Q: What should I expect from this service 	
      and my driver? 
A: Please remember that SoonerRide is not a 

taxi service but is intended to assure        
you have access to your medical 
appointments. You can expect the    
following from this service: 

• Vehicles often will transport other members 
in the same vehicle with you. • Drivers cannot make additional stops — 

they can only take you to the destination 
that has been approved and reserved. • Drivers will give assistance into and out of 
the vehicle but may only pull up to the front 
door or to a common area of an apartment, 
clinic, hospital, or office building. They do 
not assume the role of a caretaker. If you 
need assistance, please bring an escort 
with you. • Drivers should obey all traffic laws. • Drivers should notify you if they will be more 
than 10 minutes late. • Occasionally, a driver may ask you if you can 
be a little flexible with your “pick-up time.” 
You are not required to change your pick-
up time if asked; however, your flexibility 
will help to assure more people can get 
transportation to their health care 
appointments that day. 

Q: How do I get picked up from my 	
	 medical appointment? 

A: You must schedule both your trip to the 
medical appointment and your return trip at 
the same time. When you make your 
medical appointment, ask for an estimate 
of how long your appointment will take, and 
schedule your return trip for a little longer 
(20-30 minutes).  Once your appointment 
is completed, please stay in the pick-up 
area until your designated pick-up time.

Q: What do I do if my appointment is longer 
	 than expected?
A: Your driver will give you a phone number to 

call if your appointment goes longer or your 
vehicle is late. If you do not receive 
satisfactory service, call 1-877-404-4500.  
If your transportation is more than 15 
minutes late, you can call the “Where’s     
My Ride?” line at 1-800-435-1034, and 
your driver will be contacted to check on 
his arrival status.


